Jump to content


Eurowise Eurowise Tire Rack- Revolutionizing Tire Buying Since 1979
Tire Rack- Revolutionizing Tire Buying Since 1979
Photo

Remote Start


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 travsm3

travsm3

    Founder

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted December 28, 2006 - 10:19 PM

I would like to get a remote start but I have heard it's not a good idea with a manual car. Not to mention I heard the install is hard to do.
Posted Image

#2 Rooz

Rooz

    Crazy European Driver

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Interests:Euro Cars and BIMMERS!!!!

Posted December 28, 2006 - 10:34 PM

I would like to get a remote start but I have heard it's not a good idea with a manual car. Not to mention I heard the install is hard to do.


You'r right on both of those, plus we'd need a valey key and humm.... you have the factory alarm, right?

#3 travsm3

travsm3

    Founder

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted December 28, 2006 - 11:07 PM

Nope, don't have the factory alarm.
Posted Image

#4 Rooz

Rooz

    Crazy European Driver

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Interests:Euro Cars and BIMMERS!!!!

Posted December 29, 2006 - 10:39 AM

Nope, don't have the factory alarm.


Do you want to do an alarm while you'r at it?

#5 PrzFghtrNfrno

PrzFghtrNfrno

    her favorite.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Dash.
  • Interests:hacking
    your computer.
    stealing
    your identity.

Posted December 29, 2006 - 09:54 PM

funny you say that...

i guy at BBY put remote start on his old jetta with a manual transmission...idiot left the car in 1st gear...when he was leaving that night he hit the remote and the jetta jumped the curb and hit my buddies accord head on...hahah...had to pay for new headlights and front bumper...


advice:
if you do get it...leave the stick in neutral...with handbrake up.
Posted Image

#6 Rooz

Rooz

    Crazy European Driver

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Interests:Euro Cars and BIMMERS!!!!

Posted December 30, 2006 - 10:41 PM

funny you say that...

i guy at BBY put remote start on his old jetta with a manual transmission...idiot left the car in 1st gear...when he was leaving that night he hit the remote and the jetta jumped the curb and hit my buddies accord head on...hahah...had to pay for new headlights and front bumper...
advice:
if you do get it...leave the stick in neutral...with handbrake up.


Or you can be smart about it and order a vehicle neutral safety switch... :)

#7 AbsoluteGTR

AbsoluteGTR

    FOUR PLAY

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,998 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mt Pleasant, SC

Posted December 30, 2006 - 11:13 PM

Or you can just not get one. :P There meant for autos.

BUt travis, good luck finding a store willing to install one, unless you are going to do it yourself...just be sure to always leave it in nuetral ;)

Hey Rooz, why the valet key?
Posted Image

#8 travsm3

travsm3

    Founder

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted December 31, 2006 - 12:22 PM

Yeah, I think I have pretty much decided against it.
Posted Image

#9 S52 Power

S52 Power

    Advanced Member

  • Archived Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 262 posts

Posted December 31, 2006 - 01:23 PM

its not bad at all to do, i had one on my first probe and my camaro. they are great to have. just have to make sure you keep it in n or make sure you get the safety switch. takes a afternoon to put in.
07 MCS --for sale--
98 M3 cosmos w/magma

#10 Rooz

Rooz

    Crazy European Driver

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,491 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC
  • Interests:Euro Cars and BIMMERS!!!!

Posted December 31, 2006 - 03:40 PM

Or you can just not get one. :P There meant for autos.

BUt travis, good luck finding a store willing to install one, unless you are going to do it yourself...just be sure to always leave it in nuetral ;)
Hey Rooz, why the valet key?


Our keys have a chip in them

#11 PureEvil

PureEvil

    Advanced Member

  • Archived Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted January 01, 2007 - 09:00 AM

Travis, if you keep your car out of the garage (which I hope you dont) I'd look more into it. I plan to have one on my car soon well more for the turbo timer but it helps warm it up a bit :-D

The neutral safety switch is a must, that way you can keep it in gear and it wont try to start on you. I know a guy who would be able to install it for you as well. Let me know if you change your mind.

#12 travsm3

travsm3

    Founder

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte, NC

Posted January 01, 2007 - 11:27 AM

My car is in a garage 90% of the time. The other 10% is while at work. It's not a neccessity at all.
Posted Image